“It’s kind of fun to do the Impossible”

This quote by Walt Disney has always inspired and intrigued me – as a child, my ambitions and dreams always seemed to be possible to me; in fact, I don’t think that I thought of anything as impossible. I guess that’s one thing that is unique and special about kids. I had the usual dreams – be an olympic gymnast (surprisingly my most realistic dream as I was already a competitive gymnast), be a veterinarian, be a writer, and (perhaps the best one) be a cartoon. Looking back, I regret not pursuing my olympic dreams and I like to imagine how my life would have been different if I had. Regardless, growing up, as we all know, changes how we think and even how we dream.

Having recently graduated college, I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want to do with my life and what would be my ideal job and I’ve realized something: why do we, as adults, stop trying to do the impossible? When do we stop dreaming and, more importantly, WHY do we stop dreaming? If I had to answer that question, I would say it’s because of money. My first priority getting out of college is not to find my dream job – it’s to just find a job so that I can get some income to pay my bills. I imagine that’s how it is for everyone. And, once we find that, we stop looking because the bills are getting paid. But is that really the most important thing?

If I had to be honest, I would say that my dream job is to work with Disney Animation Studios as a rotoscope artist. And, as of right now, that is an impossible dream because I don’t have the skills or the experience. But right here, right now, for all of you to see, I vow to not give up on that dream. Like Walt Disney said – it’s FUN to do the impossible.

So I challenge all of you – think about your dreams again. Set goals to accomplish them. Don’t let money be the most important thing and the driving factor behind all of your decisions.

Leave a Reply

